News from the CCL Executive Director – Gregg Atkins

Doug Achterman smilingAt its March meeting the CCL Executive Board elected Dr. Doug Achterman of Gavilan College to a two-year term as the next President of CCL. He will assume these duties in July.


The outgoing president Meghan Chen, Mt. San Antonio College will remain on the Board as the Immediate Past President.

KenleyKenley Neufeld, currently serving as the Immediate Past President, will rotate off the Board.


The Board also welcomed Marlene Forney from Palomar College as the new Representative for the San Diego/Imperial Region.

And your loyal editor, Johanna Bowen

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 1.30.41 PM(Cabrillo College Library Director 1995-2010) (CCL Past President 2002/2006) has decided to step down from her Ex Officio Board position as editor for the CCL Website (since 2002), the Directory (since 2012),  and the CCL Outlook newsletter (since 2007).  Johanna led and directed … counseled and advised … created and organized … held it together and helped forge new paths … she has been a key participant in all of the major work of CCL in the last 15+ years.  Her passion has always been for better libraries, empowered and engaged librarians, students and classroom faculty served well, and for a strong and active community college librarians organization.  Her colleagues at the Deans & Directors meeting gave her a strong standing ovation in recognition.  She will be keenly missed.